Creating a culture of success for women in engineering and science

A Free Template from Joomlashack

A Free Template from Joomlashack

External Advisory Board PDF Print E-mail


The External Advisory Board for the ADVANCEing Faculty Program reviews the implementation of the program’s objectives and evaluates the progress toward the project goals of supportive work environment, reduce isolation, and enhance retention, research productivity and job satisfaction. It consists of members of successful ADVANCE grants at other institutions around the country, as well as individuals with expertise in diversity and gender issues, engineering and science administration, research on women in STEM, and women in engineering programs at the national level.

ADVANCEing Faculty External Advisory Board:

Kimberly Douglas-Mankin, Director WESP; past president, Women in Engineering ProActive Network; Member, ADVANCE Steering Committee, Kansas State University

Shelia Edwards-Lange, Vice-President for Minority Affairs, Vice-Provost for Diversity; Co-PI ADVANCE Project, University of Washington; former Member, Board of Directors, Women in Engineering ProActive Network

Jennifer Sheridan, Research Director and Member, Evaluation Team; WISELI ADVANCE Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Linda Lucas, Dean, School of Engineering; Co-PI, University of Alabama-Birmingham ADVANCE Program; President, Biomedical Engineering Society; past president, Society of Biomaterials; Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineers and Society For Biomaterials

Karlene Hoo, Professor, Chemical Engineering; Associate Vice President of Research; Co-Director Process Control & Optimization Consortium; Co-PI, Texas Tech ADVANCE Program

Daryl Chubin, Director, Center for Advancing Science and Engineering Capacity, American Association for the Advancement of Science; former Senior VP, Research, Policy & Programs, National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering; former Member, Board of Directors, Women in Engineering ProActive Network; Member, National Academy of Engineering Committee on Diversity in the Engineering Workforce; Member, External Advisory Committee, University of Washington ADVANCE project and Georgia Tech ADVANCE project